Bologna Children’s Book Fair

The Bologna Children’s Book Fair is one of the highlights of the children’s book publishing calendar. Given its location in Italy the live event had to be first postponed and then cancelled this year. However, it is very exciting to share that Bologna are staging a digital edition from the 4-7 May under the banner, Always Here. We’ve got all the highlights for you to pop into your calendar.

Bologna Children's Book FairFantastic Schedule of Live Sessions

There are an amazing 19 different sessions running across the week. They will all be available on the Bologna Children’s Book Fair digital channels including their website, Facebook and Instagram channels.

Here are all the events – with their Italian, Australian and US (Eastern) times, just to make it easier for you to see what you can attend.

May 4, 2020

THE FAST GROWING CHILDREN’S COMICS AND GRAPHIC NOVELS MARKET

Italy 12:00pm | US 6:00am | Australia 8:00pm

IBBY VIRTUAL PRESS CONFERENCE 2020

Italy 2:30pm | US: 8:30am | Australia 10:30pm

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Fiction Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Non-Fiction Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Tues 5th)

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Tues 5th)

2020 BOP – BOLOGNA PRIZE FOR THE BEST CHILDREN’S PUBLISHERS OF THE YEAR

Italy 6:00pm | US 12:00pm | Australia 2am (Tues 5th)

May 5, 2020

24H MARATHON

The Worldwide Illustrations Survival Portfolio Review. This special event will run for 24 hours from the starting times shown below.

Italy 12:00pm | US 6:00am | Australia 8:00pm

WELCOME TO THE CHINESE MARKET – COMMON CHALLENGES, SHARED OPPORTUNITIES

This session will look at how we can work together to restore worldwide confidence. An essential one for anyone using Chinese suppliers or looking to get into this massive market.

Italy 2:00pm | US 8:00am | Australia 10:00pm

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (New Horizons Special Jury Prize)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Wed 6th)

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Cinema Special Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Wed 6th)

ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE WINNERS OF THE BOLOGNA LICENSING TRADE FAIR AWARD

Italy 6:00pm | US 12:00pm | Australia 2am (Wed 6th)

May 6, 2020

THE REASONS BEHIND A CHOICE

Italy 11:00am | US 5:00am | Australia 7:00pm

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Comics Early Reading Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Thurs 7th)

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Comics Middle Grade Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Thurs 7th)

THE WINNER OF THE BOLOGNARAGAZZI AWARD 2020 (Comics Young Adult Category)

Italy 4:00pm | US 10:00am | Australia 12:00am (Thurs 7th)

BCBF 2020 DUST OR MAGIC MASTERCLASS ONLINE EDITION

Italy 4:30pm | US 10:30am | Australia 12:30am (Thurs 7th)

Find out more about this one and register to attend this special masterclass by clicking here.

2020 BOLOGNARAGAZZI DIGITAL AWARD: NOTES FROM THE JURORS

Italy 5:00pm | US 11:00am | Australia 1:00am (Thurs 7th)

May 7, 2020

THE GREAT ESCAPE: FROM LIBRARIES AND BOOKSTORES THE SHORTEST (AND LEGAL) WAY TO EXIT THE QUARANTINE

Italy 2:00pm | US 8:00am | Australia 10:00pm

Where to Next

Will you try to attend any of the sessions? Do you think Book Fairs are worthwhile? Let us know by leaving a comment. Do have a look through our many indie author guides available on the website for more author tips. The best way to keep in touch with the latest ones is to sign up to our author newsletter. And don’t forget, if you would like to have a chat about your book just book an appointment in via our Contact page. Keep an eye out for us on all the usual channels, FacebookInstagram and LinkedIn.

 

Facebooktwitterlinkedinyoutubeinstagram

Leave a Reply


Subscribe to Old Mate Media

 

Subscribe!